top of page

A few of my fav things....


Each day I love these things more and more.

1. My awesome Tupperware tumbler. Hydrate. Hydrate. Hydrate. Helping me prepare for August 16 and helpful to rinse the chlorine out of my mouth. 2. Incredible goggles. My kids say I look like a bug. They have shiny UV lens, so I'm ready to hit the the lakes and oceans. Thanks for the tip Dale! (I bought a backup pair to have in the kayak for the big day). 3. The green swim cap; who knew I would love swim caps at this stage in my life. It is an awesome conversation starter for lane swimming. Today I had 3 random conversations with strangers as we all swam. The best conversation went like this "What's the big swim?" I explain. "You mean it's a relay? You do 800m or something?" I explain I'm doing the whole thing, no relay. All 14km. Weird looks return my explanation. Oddly enough, the disbelief is motivating as I run through my 62 laps. 4. Birkenstocks. I could live in them on a good day; these ones rarely leave my side. 5. A great bathing suit that fits. 6. My swim fins aka flippers aka my best friends.

The next accessory is ordered. A wetsuit. Grateful for Google who assisted the research in planning that purchase, who helped me find the answers to my unusual (or maybe they are usual questions if you're researching wetsuits!) and didn't even giggle at me. And grateful for the wisdom of fellow swimmers and people who like wearing those sort of sausage like contraptions. That in itself will be a whole other blog post!

88 sleeps to go.....

Want to see what the #BIGSWIM2015 could look like? Check out the video from 2013   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6UMR6rYKEU4&feature=youtu.be

 

We are doing the hard work training and swimming- all you need to do is donate!

 

 

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
bottom of page